Record Of The Month - Elbow ‘little Fictions'

Issue 21

The Elbow boys return with Little Fictions, their 7th album of new material. Following the departure of founding member and drummer Richard Jupp, Little Fictions marks the first line-up change in their illustrious 20 year career. In spite of this change in personnel though the band have released yet another strong collection of songs which were penned between log-fire sessions in Scotland and at lead singer Guy Garvey’s home. The opening track Magnificent (She Says) is a real stand out featuring a neat configuration of guitar, drums and bass augmented by a wonderful sweeping string section. Other highlights include songs All Disco and Gentle Storm, not to mention the epic 8 minute title-track Little Fictions. Well versed in love and life, Garvey lends many a lyrical flourish with this being very much another Elbow album that stands up well to repeated listens.

Sign-up to our newsletter

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.