Trust's Pride As Two School Teams Reach The Finals In Football Competitions

Issue 101

Two secondary schools, which are part of Bishop Chadwick Catholic Education Trust, are thrilled to have reached the finals of two English Schools' Football Association (ESFA) competitions.

The Year 7 girls’ football team at St Joseph’s Catholic Academy in Hebburn and the under-16 girls’ team at St Bede’s Catholic School and Byron Sixth Form in Peterlee are both celebrating the fact that they beat the competition to reach the final in their competitions.

St Joseph’s beat South Wolds Academy from South Nottingham in the semi-final 3-0 and will now play Surbiton High School from Kingston on 21st May in the final of the ESFA Girls Under 12 National PlayStation 9-a-side Schools Cup.

More than 230 teams entered the competition. St Joseph’s team included players Aliyah Ahmed, Layla Bailey, Zofia Bean, Amelia Brown, Grace Cooke, Lilly Day, Cerys Dickinson, Evie Harkness, Holly Nicklin, Freya Pritchard, Millie Smith, Autumn Stoker, Maddie Thomas, Lucy Vickers and Lily Wilson.

Millie Smith, who plays left-wing position, said: “I am proud that we got all the way here, it’s a big achievement! I am nervous for the final but I believe we can win.”

St Joseph’s Acting Headteacher Suzanne Lewis-Dale said: “We are delighted with the team’s achievement. Our school is fortunate enough to have its own football academy in partnership with a local provider Improtech.

“This success demonstrates the immense talent we have within school. We wish them every success in the final.”

The under-16 girls’ football team at St Bede’s beat Haslingden High School from Rossendale, Blackburn 3-1 in the ESFA Girls U16 Arnold Clark Schools’ Cup semi-final.

They will play Fulbrook School from Woking in the final on 7th May at The Bet365 Stadium, the home of Championship club, Stoke City FC.

Year 11 pupil Victoria Chester said: “We can’t wait to play in the final! We’ve played well as a team and worked really hard and we have got our reward. We are all very excited.”

They have scored an impressive 34 goals in seven games, whilst only conceding six.

Daisy May Clarke is currently the team’s leading goal scorer with nine goals, closely followed by Ellen Marie Atkinson, Eva Mysleyko and Teigan Wilson, who all have eight each.

Headteacher Frances Cessford said: “We are over the moon that the team has reached the final. Our school is fortunate enough to have its own football academy in partnership with a local provider, Improtech. Reaching the final shows what great talent and team spirit our players have. We will all be rooting for them in the final.”

The squad comprises Eve Antliff, Ellen Marie Atkinson, Olivia Barkess, Sami Boardman, Victoria Chester, Daisy May Clarke, Neve Clarke, Elise Embleton, Amy Howarth, Millie Hudson, Eva Mysleyko, Molly Smart, Eve Webster and Teigan Wilson.

Sign-up to our newsletter

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.